AC/DC hall effect sensor circuit

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by frascati, Jun 1, 2010.

1. frascati

Thread Starter Member

Jun 1, 2010
    I asked this a couple of years back and finally gave up in frustration (cannot even remember my username). I'm a novice electronics tinkerer(very novice), and was trying to add a process to my Tig welder. All I want to do is trigger a common relay to energize a 115vac circuit whenever there is current detected in that cable. I recently found the old attempt in a box in the corner and thought I'd give it another try.

The welder cable carries from 5 to 300 amps, AC/DC, during operation.
    I got a hall effect sensor along with a simple diagram and a snap-on ferrite choke and constructed the folllowing..http://img201.imageshack.us/img201/7934/imgp0006cr1.jpg

I drew a model with Google Sketchup of what is inside that...
    http://img234.imageshack.us/img234/8108/ferriteiti0.jpg

It's been so long that I do not have a copy of the circuit used anymore.
    But I was unsuccessful.

Would the following circuit work for my purpose...
    http://www.discovercircuits.com/DJ-Circuits/pumpmotormon2.htm

I discovered that in a search for Hall Effect on this site, although it does not appear to use a hall effect device. I've been under the impression that to detect very low current, ac and dc, that there were no alternatives to hall effect sensors.

I was hoping that two years later there might actually be a discrete IC of some
    sort that would detect a low amperage magnetic field and have pin
    inputs for low supply voltage and simple switch pin outputs.

I'm determined, for a number of reasons, to do this with a clip on device. I don't want to hardwire any device to the welder or disassemble or tap into any part of it.

What the simplest method of accomplishing this?

Last edited: Jun 1, 2010
  2. rjenkins

AAC Fanatic!

Nov 6, 2005