AC Ammeter Installation Question

nedriv

Joined May 26, 2013
Hello all, this is my first post.

I'm seeking help regarding an Ammeter I purchased and how to install it. I am not knowledgeable in "electrical" or electronic matters. I'm a woodworker trying to modify my 22" drum sander by installing an ammeter so I can monitor the load placed on the motor while in use. I will then be able to change machine settings while using the machine to reduce the load on the motor and prevent a stall-out/overload situation.

The drum-sander has 110v AC motor to drive the sanding drum and a small DC motor to drive the conveyor belt that feeds the wood under the sanding drum. The sanding drum motor is usually what stalls when the machine settings are too aggressive.

I purchased (on Ebay) an ammeter described as follows:
"Quadrate 20A AC Analog Amp Panel Meter Ammeter & Shunt"
I've attached a picture of the ammeter.

The ammeter came with a shunt. I've also attached a picture of the shunt.

Other woodworkers have done this modification on their drum sanders based on what I've found online. But, I haven't found much in the way of wiring information.

I've developed a couple questions as I researched how to install the ammeter and shunt.

QUESTIONS:
1) I'm wondering now if this ammeter is really a DC ammeter as I haven't found info online on how to use a shunt on an AC ammeter. There are no markings on the back of the ammeter. How do I know if this is an AC or DC ammeter by looking at the markings on the front (see picture).

2) I know the shunt/ammeter should be wired in series. How do I wire this particular shunt (picture) with the AC load line and the Ammeter? Which screws do I use for the 110v ac line and which screws do I use for the ammeter?

Thanks for any help you can provide this novice.

Regards,
Ed V

Attachments

JohnInTX

Joined Jun 26, 2012