About PIC16F84 microcontroller.

Shyamal805

Joined Mar 20, 2012
Sir,
I am new in microcontroller programming. Just started from now. I want to know for PIC16F84 microcontroller -

1. Which compiler is perfect?
2. Can i use/install MPLAB 8.5 for windows7 64 bit?
2. Can i use c programming?
3. Which programming language is best for this uC?

Please help me.

Shyamal

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
1. Which compiler is perfect?

There is no such thing.

2. Can i use/install MPLAB 8.5 for windows7 64 bit?

Yes you can.

2. Can i use c programming?

Yes you can.

3. Which programming language is best for this uC?

The one you already know. An assembler (machine language) and simulator already comes inside MPLAB. Microchip lets you download their C compiler for free, and while it is limited it is quite serviceable. There are also other sources for compilers. The only other language I have seen used in Basic, and while I have used it in the past I no longer do so when C is available.

t06afre

Joined May 11, 2009
Well the 16f628 or 16f88 is a good replacement for for the old 16f84. Unless size matter. I would perhaps recommend to use a 28 or 40 pin PIC. However before you get any PIC. You must be sure it can be programmed with your current programmer. What kind of programmer do you have

Shyamal805

Joined Mar 20, 2012
Sir, i'm new & have small knowledge on Microcontroller. I want to start working on PCI16F84 because i have some tutorials and tips on PCI16F8. For few pin(18) hope it will be good for me to easily understand & it is also available on my country for this reason i want to start working first.

After completing PCI16F84 project i will start working for newer PCIs like 16f628 or 16f88 that you give here.

Sir, I don't know what kind of programmer i can use. I search on google and get a site which gives PIC 16F84 Serial Programmer circuit diagram and layout. I want to make this but don't know is this programmer circuit diagram is ok?