Abbreviations in circuits, and other random Questions

Nube

Joined Jul 7, 2012
This is the schematic I'm looking at:
http://www.555-timer-circuits.com/toy-organ.html

I'm very new to electronics and the circuit diagrams still look very daunting to me. When it says "100n" next to a capacitor, is that just an abbreviation for 100nF? On that schematic, there is also something that says "10u" next to an electrolytic capacitor. What does that mean? Is that supposed to stand for 10μF? Also, if there was no sign next to a capacitor in a schematic and just said "100" should I assume it means 100μF? And in resistors, if it just had a number, should I also assume that it means 100Ω? In that schematic there was also a "8R Speaker". What does R stand for? I heard that it meant 8Ω Speaker, but I don't understand how resistance has anything to do with Speakers.

Another unrelated question: I bought a pack of PNP transistors at Radio Shack. I know that transistors amplify current, but how do you know by how much? Do all transistors amplify the same amount of current? Are all of my transistors in that pack the same?

Thanks so much for the help, I'm still a nube and I appreciate your time!

Christian

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
yes
yes
yes
yes
R stands for ohms
Speakers have impedance, measured in ohms
transistors have a rated current gain beta or hFE which is listed in the specs
no
no

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Schematics tend to use a lot of short-hand notations, many of them stemming from the days when they all had to be hand drawn and/or when typesetting had limited character sets.

Component values frequently omit the base unit {Ω,F,H}. Despite my obsession with units, I'm willing to buy off on this one because the symbol associated with the base unit suffices. None-the-less, there isn't any reason not to include the base unit these days, unless your schematic capture package, whatever it is, doesn't support it (most likely the Ω symbol).