AAC Snow animation causing high CPU usage

Discussion in 'Feedback and Suggestions' started by SgtWookie, Dec 5, 2009.

  1. SgtWookie

    Thread Starter Expert

    Jul 17, 2007
    22,182
    1,728
    The snow animation is cute, but it's causing my CPU meter to peg.

    My graphics card admittedly stinks, but I'm not going to upgrade it so I can watch snow fall on the AAC forums.

    PLEASE either turn the animations off, or provide a means for normal users to turn them off.

    Otherwise, my efforts to help people here will be severely crippled.

    Thanks,
    Wook
     
  2. jrap

    Administrator

    Jun 25, 2006
    961
    200
    Ahh, fair enough Wook. Sorry about that, I forgot how much of a resource hog javascript can sometimes be.
     
  3. SgtWookie

    Thread Starter Expert

    Jul 17, 2007
    22,182
    1,728
    Thank you, thank you, thank you!

    I just posted a "goodbye" message on general discussion, and noticed the "snow' stopped.
     
  4. jrap

    Administrator

    Jun 25, 2006
    961
    200
    Hah yep, we'll blame it on global warming.
     
  5. beenthere

    Retired Moderator

    Apr 20, 2004
    15,815
    282
    I see there is someone else who hasn't got enough computer to run Windows 7.
     
  6. Wendy

    Moderator

    Mar 24, 2008
    20,764
    2,534
    What are you running Wook?

    I liked it, but I agree it needs throttled.
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2009
  7. SgtWookie

    Thread Starter Expert

    Jul 17, 2007
    22,182
    1,728
    I'm running Windows XP Pro which I like just fine and dandy, thankyouverymuch. :)

    The wife's laptop came with Windows Vista installed. Vista stinks. :p
     
  8. SgtWookie

    Thread Starter Expert

    Jul 17, 2007
    22,182
    1,728
    An older Compaq Presario with a 2.5GHz Celeron, 1G RAM, and it has an onboard Intel 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV graphics controller. Nothing fancy, but it generally gets the job done.
     
  9. Dave

    Retired Moderator

    Nov 17, 2003
    6,960
    144
    Diagnosis complete Wook. I got a hamster and wheel if you need to upgrade! :p

    Dave
     
  10. Dave

    Retired Moderator

    Nov 17, 2003
    6,960
    144
    Is it the same one as last year Rob? I don't recall people having an issue with that one.

    I take it there is no option to have it on or off, it seems some liked it, but it shouldn't be forced on users if it causes a slow down.

    Dave
     
  11. bertus

    Administrator

    Apr 5, 2008
    15,638
    2,344
    Hello,

    The snow last year where with larger flocks.
    I had some trouble last year also.
    I have my PC running in powersave mode.
    When the snowflakes where on the site you could hear the processor making more effort as the processorfan would turn up and start making some noise.

    Greetings,
    Bertus
     
  12. Dave

    Retired Moderator

    Nov 17, 2003
    6,960
    144
    Perhaps there were issues last year, just that members chose not to raise it.

    Dave
     
  13. Wendy

    Moderator

    Mar 24, 2008
    20,764
    2,534
    I have a 2.5Gig Athlon, 1 Gig RAM, and a Radeon 8500 AIW video card. I didn't notice any slow down with it. I like playing the occasional video game, so I tend to use older high end video cards.
     
Loading...