A wearable electric stimulation watch

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by kevin0228ca, Jun 10, 2015.

1. kevin0228ca

Thread Starter Member

Jun 5, 2015
    greetings.
    I am building a wearable device which will electric stimulate a person's arm.
    Requirements are
    current should be constant less than 10 mA
    current should be able go both direction
    supply voltage should be 50+ in order to be able to stimulate human skin
    wearable so I guess should be battery powered
    stimulation signal should be biphasic square wave so current does not accumulate
    I am quite new to electric engineering, so please verify if my logic about building block of my system is correct.
    [​IMG]
    I have a few questions.
    For constant current source, i am using a circuit
    [​IMG]
    Vcc should be 50+.
    then in order to induce least voltage drop across R3,
    V+ going to to opamp, which was originally 0-5V square wave, should be amplified to 0-40+V, then go to opamp?
    can opamp amplify to 40+V? because I think most opamp have Vcc limit around 30V?

Also, is possible to convert 0-10mA square wave to +- 10mA square wave?

for charge pump I am thinking about using IC from linear technology or maxim.
    is possible to boost from 9V to 50+V?

Can anyone verify if my logic is correct?
    Thank you.

2. blah2222

May 3, 2010
    Hi, I have built something similar for a school project.

First off, it is a fun project but not something you should just jump into if you are still fresh to circuit theory or electrical engineering. In this case, you are dealing with high voltage and direct contact with the stimulation circuitry which is not to play around with.

When I built this, I made sure it was battery-powered and any data transmission was wireless, to make sure there were no connections to mains power.