A question on DS1307

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by harisudharsan, May 9, 2014.

1. harisudharsan

Thread Starter New Member

May 6, 2014
    Hi All,

A very warm greetings to the members of the team.

I am new to electronics and circuits and this would be my first attempt in the practical electronics. (So please answer in very basic/layman terms )

I am doing a background work and collecting and comparing various circuits for creating a digital clock (using 7 seg display).

I was looking for a circuit with basic CMOS chips 74xx. But I did not find many circuits online (found few in youtube. But schematics are not provided) and also they said chips like 555 are not great to be used for creating clocks as there can be around 2-3 seconds +/- difference in a day. (Please let me know your views on this).

During the process I found few circuits that uses various RTC chip.

I decided to keep my attempt simple as this is the first time. I decide to go with DS1307 (RTC chip). I was thinking that, this chip is going to do all the magic and all I have to do is to provide a power supply and connect it to a 7 segment (along with its driver if required). But in the below links they have provided schematics to connect it through PIC/microcontroller/counter/shift register etc (AT89c52 and 74LS595). I am unable to understand the purpose of those.

Can some one help me with a better circuit if you have. Since I am from computer background, i can understand the program they have provided for the PIC. But I do not know to use a PIC Kit to deploy that program into the chip.

I found the below circuit is made out of basic CMOS chips. Is there any visible flaw in that circuit ? Please provide a proper flow diagram if somebody has on the below circuit. The schematic looks full. But I see the connections are hanging. I am unable to understand what to connect and where.

To avoid using the PIC and microcontroller is it possible to use any CMOS chips ?

With Regards,