A question about Capacitors

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by KM Photography, Nov 15, 2014.

1. KM Photography

Thread Starter New Member

Nov 15, 2014
    This may have been answered before. I'm currently working on a Photogenic Powerlight 1500SL Studio Strobe Light. I have found a bad capacitor. This is my first time replacing a capacitor, usually it's as simple as replacing a fuse or fixing a solder joint. I would assume this cap is Non-polar since it is 200uf 200VNP 250VDC, However when you look at the tabs that hold the leads in place there is a "-" on one of the tabs and a dot on the other, which to me would suggest it's polarized. Below are some photos of the cap in question, any help would be greatly appreciated! DSC_0212.jpg DSC_0217.jpg

2. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    Looks electrolytic (polarized) to me!

Take a look here for instance. I would use a cap rated to a higher temperature (105°C versus 85°C) if I could, with same or higher voltage rating and same or slightly higher capacity.

Finally, be sure the replacement has the right diameter and lead spacing. It looks like you could use one quite a bit taller, but a larger diameter would be a very tough fit.

How did you decide the cap was bad? Just curious. I'd highly consider replacing ALL the electrolytic caps. It will only add a few dollars to your project.

Last edited: Nov 15, 2014
  3. KM Photography

Nov 15, 2014
    But the VNP stands for Volts Non-Polarized, correct?

4. KM Photography

Nov 15, 2014
    Well I was testing the flash, and after each flash smoke would come out of the unit. Hoping it left a mark I took it apart to see where it was coming from but to no avail, so I hooked the connectors back up and left the unit open, plugged it in (carefully) and flashed it a few times. I saw smoke rolling from underneath this capacitor. If you look at the lead with the "-" on it, that is where it was starting to explode.

5. ISB123

May 21, 2014
    VNP-Vertical Natural Plate