A little Help needed

darklighterz

Joined Jun 17, 2013
Hi, Im thinking about building a pwm controller for a pump i have. I have drawn a circuit out for you guys (a very amateur diagram :p), the bits im not too sure about are the resistor placements and values and the diode placement to prevent damage of my attiny chip.

Also anything else i may have missed.

Thanks
Dan

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
The diode is directional, and should be in parallel with the pump and not in the conducting orientation. Of course it will do its job and conduct when there is a reverse pulse. What is the 220Ω resistor doing?

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
Right, the diode helps mitigate that effect. The high voltage on the low side of the coil is routed through the diode to the positive rail of the battery instead of onto the transistor.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
BTW im a novice with electronics
Check and double check when you wire up the transistor. It's very easy to confuse the pins and get it wrong, novice or expert. The expert is the guy that knows he may have it wrong, and checks again to be sure. And then again.

You should show on your drawing which pin (B, C, E) you intend to use at each point. The 680Ω resistor will be on the base pin, and the emitter connects to ground.

How much current does your pump need to operate?

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
So the 220Ω resistor can/should be removed?

And is this the correct diode placement?
If your pump is OK to use directly connected to the battery, then I see no need for the 220Ω resistor. But I hate to question someone else's design without more information. Where did the schematic come from?

The diode placement is good, but it needs to point the right direction. If it has a line on the package on one end, that should face the battery.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
Sorry wrong pump, this one is 7.5-15amps