A little help needed with LM741 dual tracking power supply

knoba

Joined May 1, 2012
By way of an intro, from a first timer, Hello! Great site.

I'm fairly new to electronics, too (this will be my 3rd completed circuit), btw...

I'm struggling to make myself a; bi-polar*, dc, auto-tracking^, bench-top power supply from various circuits around the internet. This is the one I want to make...

I think I'm good up to the outputs from the voltage regulators. It's the op-amp that's killing me (the design calls for a LM301, is the LM741CN a suitable substitute?).

I can't get the LM337 voltage regulator to alter its output. The LM317 adjusts fine from 0v - +17v, using the potentiometer. The LM337 side of things just stays at -17v.

The only other components that are different to the stated design is:
* my transformer is a centre tapped 72va 240v.
* my bridge rectifier is a W01G.
* my ripple capacitors (directly after rect.) are single 4700μF 35wv's.

Any help would much appreciated!

* bi-polar = 17v - 0v - +17v outputs. Is "bi-polar" the correct word for this?

^ auto-tracking = that both sides, of the minus and positive power supply outputs, can be simultaneously altered through a single control?

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
D2 is backwards, BTW.

The op-amp is powered from filtered but not regulated (and therefore rippling) power. That seems like a problem.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
So many problems! No local capacitors on the 3 legged regulators. No output capacitors. You are trying to get the op amp to balance the voltages with an input equal to its negative supply (out of common mode range). The 741 does not have a place for that 100p frequency compensation capacitor. and I'm in a hurry to get to work!

C U later.

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
D2 is backwards, BTW.

The op-amp is powered from filtered but not regulated (and therefore rippling) power. That seems like a problem.