A few questions for designers dealing with inventors.

LG_Tally

Joined Mar 30, 2014
Hello everyone, my name is David. The reason I am here is because I have a product idea that requires an electronic component. I have been working on the structural components for two years during my time off from work and family duties, which averages to about 30 seconds a week ;). Anyhow, it is time to focus on the design of the electronics now and I am not in a position to spend a lot of money on hiring a designer. However, I need to have a design that can be production ready. I have found a few people who are making components that are close to what I want with standard hobby electronics but I want to be able to take my design to market. My questions for the designers in the group are:

1) What would attract you to invest your time in a project?
Cold hard cash only!
Depends on the idea? or the track record of person?
Some payment up front, some on production?
Royalties?

2) Where would be a good place to start looking for a design partner?

3) If I do find a partner willing to work with me, what is fair equity? How do I determine the worth of the work it takes to design the component?

4) How concerned should I be about protecting my Idea and how can I do that? Is an NDA good enough?

5) How do I know that I am dealing with someone knowledgeable? Should I prepare qualifying questions? It has been my experience that just because a person holds a position does not mean they know what they are doing. At the same time I don't want to insult a knowledgeable prospect either.

As a side note, I have experience bringing a non electronic product to market which saw substantial sales and distribution. Also, I promise not to solicit anyone using the information provided. However if you wish to connect with me, please message me or express your interest in this thread.

Thank you in advance, any input on this is appreciated.

GM11
Hi sorry I am on my sons login name!!