A current flow question

Paradoxine

Joined Aug 12, 2012
So I've been designing a circuit and I've simplified it slightly for both mine and your convenience. I'm new to electronics but in essence here is what I propose for an active switch: (The phototransistor etc have been omitted but you'll have to trust that the switching process itself is fine).

The NPN transistor you see below is actually an IGBT and the capacitor used is fully charged to 500V @ 100uF. When the IGBT is activated, the capacitor will discharge through the inductor. My question is this. Is there a problem with putting the IGBT in the circuit like this? My only concern with the below circuit is that the 500V from the capacitor will flow down to the set of two parallel resistors in the circuit and maybe even to the 12V source battery. My initial reaction would be no it won't because it won't form a proper circuit, but I'm not certain and as such want some confirmation. In other word's I want the two circuits more or less isolated apart from the interaction with the IGBT.

Direct Link: Here

TL;DR: I've made a circuit where I'm genuinely not certain whether I'll have a problem with the multiple power sources. In the future, is there an easy way I can ascertain whether I'll get any unwanted current flow?

Note: You may notice this was modelled in LTSpice, but I've literally just started to use it and I'd rather get some advice here first.

Hope that made sense. Thanks.

praondevou

Joined Jul 9, 2011
What are the two parallel resistors for? Measuring load current? In this case the 500V negative must be connected to the 12V negative.

Anyway, there will be no current from the 500V resistor through the 12V supply.

Paradoxine

Joined Aug 12, 2012
What are the two parallel resistors for? Measuring load current? In this case the 500V negative must be connected to the 12V negative.

Anyway, there will be no current from the 500V resistor through the 12V supply.