9v Dc Socket wiring - PLEASE HELP ME! lol

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by tarquinkrikery, May 9, 2009.

1. tarquinkrikery

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 15, 2009
    Hi jus a quick question from an idiot - I'm really new to the whole electronics thing!

I've managed to make a circuit with LED's that works with a 9v battery. However I want to use a 9v DC power supply (that I use to power my guitar pedals - so negative tip) to power the circuit. I have a 9v 2.1mm socket (same size as the power supply jack), but don't know how to wire it into the circuit.

Am I right in assuming that as it's - tip, + sleeve, I wire the the sleeve of socket to the + side of my circuit and vica versa?

Only prob is the socket has a 3rd "prong" I'm not sure what to do with!

PLease help, I'm so close to finished my project! lol

2. eblc1388

Nov 28, 2008
    The third prong on the power jack socket is used to disconnect one end of the 9V battery when the external supply is connected and supplying the circuit.

[​IMG]

3. tarquinkrikery

Apr 15, 2009
    sweet, thanks I'll give that a go and see how I get on with that!

Thanks!

4. CDRIVE

Jul 1, 2008
    Unfortunately there is no set standard for this. 90% of all the wall warts have neg(-) connected to the shell and pos(+) connected to the pin. I always check because there's always the other 10%.
    Your best bet is to follow what eblc1388 posted.

5. tarquinkrikery

Apr 15, 2009
    Hmm, ok so I'm a little confused.

I know my power supply is negative tip - cos so are all my pedals and they work fine with the ps.

So I've wired up the circuit as per above - works inasmuch as the batter cuts out when the ps is plugged into the dc socket. But the socket won't power the circuit. Dodgy socket?

Circuit works fine off a 9v battery, but not off my 9v supply. I'm confused.com! lol. Help!

6. eblc1388

Nov 28, 2008