9v, aPad, Battery, Powered, Charger, help

dsnunga

Joined Nov 17, 2011
hello everyone! newbie here. average dude who knows very little about electronics. good thing i stumbled upon this site. been surfing it for a while now. ;)

here's my problem, i just bought a cheap iPad clone (the China-made aPad that runs on android) and my first frustration was the battery life! it only lasts for a few hours and then you have to recharge it again. the charger indicates:

input: 100-240VAC 0.5A
output: 9v 1500mA

since it was 9v, i immediately thought about the piles of 9v batteries lying around. i also have some 9v rechargeables. i then soldered 2 battery clips (in parallel) to a switch and then to the socket that fits my tablet. when i tested it, it has an output of 10v+

my observations were:

1. the tablet says 100% charged when the batteries are on and back to normal battery level when off.

2. when the batteries are low, the apad dies. (makes a weird sound) this happened with the NiCd. (i hope i didn't damage it, still works though)

now what i want to do is

1. be able to really "charge" (transfer the power from the batteries my device)
add a safety feature?

2. resistor or capacitor to regulate power coming from the 9v batteries

3. add a power meter of some sort (a single led that indicates low power)

4. add a usb charger port (i already found guides for this) ;)

i would also appreciate any tips, hints, and precautions with this diy project. thank you very much. have a nice day. :D

bountyhunter

Joined Sep 7, 2009
9V rechargeables have a capacity of about 100 - 150 mAhr. You are trying to power equipment rated at:

input: 100-240VAC 0.5A
output: 9v 1500mA

They won't last long

Georacer

Joined Nov 25, 2009
I think the battery description refers to the output current, not energy, as it writes mA, not mAh.

The mAh rating could be measured approximately by seeing how many hours can the pad be on full operation (WiFi, GPS and other modules on).

Audioguru