77cm x 50cm LED Signboard

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by ElectricStatiallistic, Sep 19, 2013.

1. ElectricStatiallistic

Thread Starter New Member

Sep 6, 2013
    Hey there,

This is my very first project where I would like to build a LED sign board with a total of 210 superbright LEDs making up two different words.
    Hence, the circuit is basically separated into 2 parts, which I shall name these parts A and B respectively.
    Tho, both parts are connected in parallel to the same power supply of 24VDC, 2.1A, also in series with a toggle switch.

5 to 6 LEDs are connected in series with a resistor to form a strand where at the final stage, the strands are connected in parallel to the power supply.
    This configuration applies for both A and B.

Circuit A is a simpler one and it is made up of 26 blue superbright LEDs
    which I have connected using 4 strands of 5 LEDs and 1 strand of 6 LEDs.
    Each strand is connected in series to a resistor of 180ohm.
    This part is lit constantly as long as there is power supply.

Circuit B is made such that the remaining 184 red superbright LEDs are blinking by connecting the strands connected in parallel, to a NE555N IC in series.
    There are 32 strands of 5 LEDs and 4 strands of 6 LEDs, with each strand connected in series to a resistor of 380ohm.

I did some simple calculations with the assumption that each LED requires 3V and 20mA.
    Therefore, a strand of maximum 6 LEDs, will use a forward voltage of 18V with a total of 0.82A to support the total of 41 strands.

Now here is my problem.
    When I supply the power, one of the strand of 5 LEDs in part A does not lit, unlike the remaining strands which are lit brightly in blue. I have checked the connections but to no avail.

Next a major problem resides where at part B, all red LEDs are lit dimly with several unlit strands. However, part B still blink accordingly.