741 questions

gitbash

Joined Jan 13, 2011
Hi,

Newbie here.

I am a mechanical engineer with very limited knowledge of electronics. I am trying to educate myself by reading (Great Forum, BTW), and , like Shockmyselfsmart, have been experimenting with a 741 just to see what does what..

With V+ of 1.33v, I get a Vo of about 0.82v, with no Vin connected. Having read the previous posts in this thread I understand the idea of the offset null on the 741.

However, I have also been playing with a 6462 dual opamp, and with a V+ of 1.33v I get a Vo of up to 1v, again with nothing connected to Vin. The 6462 does not have offset null pins.

My question is this: Is a Vo normal for a 6462, or have I blown the amp, or am I just being a muppet? If a Vo is normal, how do I compensate for it?

Sorry if this is probably a very basic question, but please be gentle with this virgin!

Thanks,

Terry,

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
Welcome to the forums.

Please start your own thread instead of hijacking an existing one - http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/showthread.php?t=47789

With the inputs open, any stray voltage will cause an unbalanced condition and therefore an output. There is no feedback, so the output will swing as far as possible and stay there.

The LMC6462 has an input impedance about 500 times greater than the 741. The inputs really need to be tied to ground or some reasonable input to give a sensible output.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Hello Terry,

741 opamps are ubiquitous, but are now ancient relics as they were introduced some 40 years ago. At the time, they were the greatest thing since sliced bread.

They require 8v to 9v difference from +V to -V to get any kind of range. It's best to use a dual supply with them, otherwise you'll have to bias the inputs at 1/2 your +V.