741 Op amp problem, help needed!

ja7me

Joined May 24, 2012
Hello everyone,

I am new to electronics and have been experimenting with the 741 op-amp.

The op amp behaves exactly how I expect it to on multisim electronics simulator program. However when I build the circuit on breadboard it behaves differently. Below I will try to explain this difference I am getting:

On simulator:

In the attached schematic I have set the gain to 10, therefore 0.2V in should equal 2V out. And 0.4V in should equal 4V out. This is what I get, which is what I expect.

On breadboard:

When I tested using breadboard I used a variable resistor in replace of R12 (on schematic) to set a gain of 10. This worked fine as 0.2V in equalled about 2V out.
However, when I increased the input voltage to about 0.4V, I was still getting 2V out. I believe this to be incorrect behaviour.

Below are some measurements I took:

0.2V in:
Pin 2 = About 1.8V
Pin 3 = About 0.2V
Pin 6 = About 2V

0.4V in:
Pin 2 = About 1.8V
Pin 3 = About 0.4V
Pin 6 = About 2V

I really would appreciate any help on understanding this issue.

Kind Regards,

Jay

Attachments

t06afre

Joined May 11, 2009
The lm741 need a dual supply to work properly. A dual power supply is something that gives out both a positive and negative voltage. You can easy make this from say two 9 volt batteries. However I would not recommend using the 741 opamp at all. Use a more modern opamp. For the setup you have try to use the LM324 opamp. Yes it is kind of old school that to. But it is designed for single supply applications and also very common world wide.
You should also be aware of that simulators do not always give a real world result. They are like a very theoretical professor that never have done done some real world design work. Very good at math but that is also all ;)

justtrying

Joined Mar 9, 2011