7 Segment volume counter

valvomaniac

Joined Jun 11, 2007
Hi,

I'm designing a tube preamplifier & I want to add a volume counter.
I'm a complete novice so I want someone to help me with it.
The volume pot is a 250K which has 40 small divisions.
As I cant use any signal from the amp to drive the LED counter I thought of a couple of ideas: To make a kind of ohm-meter circuit connected to either the volume pot or to another VR mechanically connected to the volume pot to avoid signal interference.
The second idea is to fit a shaft extention to the the volume pot which magnitically activates a (solenoid???) switch.
I also need to know how to calibrate the counter for the required reading ie. from 0 to 40.

Please help, thanx

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
If it's going to be a tube preamp, perhaps you might think of Nixie tube readouts.

The part about the 250K pot with 40 divisions does not compute. Please expand on the 40 divisions.

At any case, trying to get the resistance of the pot while in use is going to have noticeable and bad effects on the audio signal. The pot should have an audio (logarithmic) taper, which would vastly complicate the resistance-to-rotation problem.

You might find a shaft encoder which will give some output close to what you wish. 64 positions might be close, as the pot probably has 300 degrees of rotation - close is close.

Most of us are happy with a pointer knob on the volume control and index marks at the min and max points. One judges volume by ear. Some us us likemore bells and whistles. De gustibus non est disputantum.

lightingman

Joined Apr 19, 2007