7 segment digital display thermometer

chrischrischris

Joined Feb 18, 2012
Hi.
I've been trying to search for a circuit diagram for a 7 segment digital display thermometer that can be made without having to do any programming. It only needs to be accurate to about 1 degree C. Does anyone know if this is possible without programming?
Chris

chrischrischris

Joined Feb 18, 2012
You can use an LM35 and ICL7135 ADC.
Mr Chips

Sorry I have limited knowledge here,so I'm trying to decifer your suggestion. It looks like the LM35 is a centigrade linear temperature sensor and the ICL7135 can output the reading. However it hooks up to a 7 segment led display. Correct?

I'm wanting to connect to 3 single digit 7 segment led displays (6"). Can I use this setup? If so, is there a circuit I can see?

chrischrischris

Joined Feb 18, 2012
While not exactly the same, you also have a thread here that is part of the same project. Please don't spread threads around like this, one thread is enough.

3 digit LED muliplexed display to 1 digit displays

I will now close the other thread.
Thanks Bill.
I didn't realize I had any replies to this thread from a while back as I didn't get any email responses. I assumed no one was answering. I just happened to go back to this thread now and noticed replies.

Bill, I still am interested (as a plan "b") in my last question in that thread on the possibility of using the cheap ebay digital thermometer and attaching 3 larger seperate led segments in lieu of the smaller 3 digit unit. Any chance on the info I've uploaded?

When you said "yes" to just wire up the 7 segment displays the way the multiplex is wired, does this mean that I would wire all "a" segments together, all "b" segments together etc. Then wire my linked "a" for example to the "a" on the small thermometer? If so, what about the commons? What do I do with those?

Last edited:

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008