Joined Apr 2, 2009
I am working in the field of electric railway
the overhead wire carrying 600 v dc
I want a circuit to convert 600 v dc to 24 v dc
please help
by the way i am a mechanical engineer , mean i want some simple explanation
thanks,,

Welcome !

It is possible but I do not think we can't help you.

Read the toS.

But I'd say this, you might need a very high power resistor. it depends on your current requirements.

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013
Of course it's possible, it just depends on how much power you need and how badly you need it. For example, if you need 1 amp, you could get there with a 600 watt resistor; simple but impracticle. For any current over about 50 mA, or any isolation, you need a switching power supply. Although they are not as common as ones for more normal input voltages, I'm sure there are off the shelf units out there.

ak

alfacliff

Joined Dec 13, 2013
you stillhavnt said anuthing about how much current you need. a simple way to do it would be to get a 440 ac to 24 vdc switch mode power supply and feed it the 600 volts dc. the rectifiers will pass the dc and the supply will work the same as if it had 440 volts ac going in.

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
Why not simply with a 600v/24v transformer?
Depending on what country you are in there are RR association regulations when operating into the control field.
In NA it is the AAR.
Max.

alfacliff

Joined Dec 13, 2013
because simply, a 600 to 24 volt transformer would not work on dc without a chopper, or other wise converting the 600 volts dc to pulses or ac.

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
I missed the 600vdc!:(
But even more I can see local Regs coming into it if there are any?
It was not stated if this is required on the Loco or at a stationary point?
Max.