5v Power Supply outputing 5.43v

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by CrAcKeZ, Feb 4, 2015.

1. CrAcKeZ

Thread Starter New Member

Feb 4, 2015
    Hi there,

I'm new to this and honestly I don't know if you can help me. I could talk all day about me and my hobbies/projects but I'll stick to this one as I'm wondering if it can be fixed easily.

I've ordered a power supply of 5v 4A to use it as a microusb charger(for any type of phone or tablet), the power supply has a round jack and I have an adapter to tranform it into a microusb. I got this Chinese power supply but when I measure it on a multimeter the reading(without load) was 5.42-5.43v(it isn't 100% stable but this is normal, it might be my multimeter, it's not a perfect one although I have a better one this is pretty accurate too)

So can anyone help me about this? I'm good at soldering things but I don't know how can I fix this so it will output 5.0v or at least something that doesn't go as high as 5.43!

I can upload as many pictures as you like(from every possible angle) ..just ask me(quality wise although not an expert on circuits... it's one of the worst I've seen - the actual output voltage on the board is not used(although it outputs the same voltage), and I don't see to be powered on(AC) from the right parts of the board too)

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Alec_t

AAC Fanatic!

Sep 17, 2013
    Welcome to AAC!
    Can you explain "the actual output voltage on the board is not used(although it outputs the same voltage)"?

3. crutschow

Expert

Mar 14, 2008
    The output voltage is likely due to the normal (poor) tolerance of the output voltage due to normal component variations.
    It will drop slightly under load and probably will be about 5V with a 4A load.
    If you want to drop the voltage under light loads then you could add a 5A Schottky diode in series with the output.
    Unless you have a schematic there's likely no way to know how to lower the voltage otherwise.

4. GopherT