555CN timer - relay or FET on output?

mezlo

Joined Jul 16, 2008
I'm a novice and it's taken me about a week to get to the point I'm at so hopefully I'm providing enough information.

I'm setting up a 555CN astable circuit using the schematic shown here. R1 is 270k, R2 150k, and C1 is 10uF. I'm using a 12Vdc source (23A alkaline battery) so I'm measuring around 8Vdc on pin 3. The device I'm powering needs 9-12Vdc and pulls around 82mA @ 12V.

Since the 8Vdc on pin 3 of the 555CN isn't enough to power my device, I need to add either a relay or a FET. I've done some Googling and am more confused now than when I started. I'm interested in whichever will be the most efficient since both the timer circuit and the end device will run off the same battery.

In this scenario should I use a relay (reed or electromechanical) or a FET? Also, what ratings should I look for on the relay or FET? I've also seen a few circuits that have diodes as well as a relay in them. Are they needed and if so, what specs should I look for? I buy components at Radio Shack so if you can provide the part number for a suitable relay/FET I'd appreciate it as well (not required, just would be handy).

Mez

PS - Can I use a CMOS 555 in this scenario? As I mentioned earlier the less power and more efficient the circuit is the better.

Audioguru

Joined Dec 20, 2007
A Cmos 555 has a very low output current.

The typical output voltage of a 555 with a 12V supply and a 82mA load is 10.4V. the guaranteed minimum voltage is 9.75V. Maybe your 12v supply voltage drops when it is loaded.

The 555 can drive a 2N4401 transistor with a 1k series base resistor and the collector will drop to about 0.1V above 0V when the transistor turns on so the load will get 11.9V.

If your device is inductive then it will produce a voltage spike when it turns off. A reverse connected diode across it will eliminate the damaging voltage spike.

mezlo

Joined Jul 16, 2008
A Cmos 555 has a very low output current.