555 verses 4098

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by BReeves, Nov 24, 2012.

1. BReeves

Thread Starter Member

Nov 24, 2012
    Hi Folks,

New guy on the block with a whole bunch of questions but will post one at a time. I'm in the process of adapting several circuits that a buddy of mine designed some time ago. Sadly he passed away from cancer a while back so I can't ask him why he did some of the things he did. I spent most of my working life as a technician and although I can look at a schematic and understand what it does I am not a design engineer.

First question is... For some reason that escapes me he simply didn't like using 555 timers and most of the circuits he designed uses the CD4098 for a simple timer. I happen to like the 555 and am comfortable making it do what I want. The component count is less with a 555 and we don't care about how much power the IC draws.

So any ides on why he might chose the 4098 over a 555 and just make things more complicated?
    Thanks

2. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    It looks like it's a bit more flexible in some ways, such as triggering on up or down versus downward for the 555. You also have more/easier control over the output pulse widths, on versus off. Probably other goodies too, but those are a couple of things that jump out at me from the datasheet.

On the negative side, the 555 wins for current sinking and sourcing. The 4098 can do very little.

3. MrChips

Oct 2, 2009
    Once again, the devil is in the details. The specific application and requirements might dictate a preference for one chip over another.

You really need to indicate the application and show a circuit schematic.

4. crutschow

Expert

Mar 14, 2008
    The component count is not necessarily less for a 555. A one-shot only requires one resistor and one capacitor with a CD4098.

5. BReeves

Thread Starter Member

Nov 24, 2012
    Thanks for the response..