555 tone generator

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by ssherwood, Dec 12, 2008.

1. ssherwood

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 25, 2008
    I am trying to build a tone generator, and have been changing caps and resist. in the circuit to change Hz.
    But when I get near my target of 1400 Hz the output distorts and jumps around on the oscilloscope. The closest I get with a good signal is 1370 or so by changing the 10k to about 2k. If I move my POT even more, it distorts, then will clear up again at around 1530 Hz (sort of clear). Any ideas?

Sorry, I am new at this, and the mathematics didn't work out for me...if anyone could help with my issue and/or a formula for finding a specific Hz. it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks so much to you Gurus who take your time to help us newbies out. I also posted this as a reply to thread titled tone generator, but thought it best to post a new thread. Circuit is at http://hop.concord.org/s1/core/s1ca1.html#top

Added info: Thanx to SgtWookie for the link to the 555 design pro--I will construct my circuit with the new values and see if it works for my Hz requirements. http://www.schematica.com/555_Timer_design/555_Timer_PRO.htm

Last edited: Dec 13, 2008
  2. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    That's OK. :)

Pin 7 is an open-collector transistor that can sink a maximum of 15mA current. You shouldn't try to sink more than 1/2 that much - so, about 7mA.

If you're running from 4.5v, the smallest that the resistor can be between the supply and pin 7 is about 640 Ohms. R=E/I, so R = 4.5/.007 is about 640.

Your 0.1uF cap might be out of specifications - you should get a 1.4kHz output at about 55% duty cycle when the upper resistor is 1k and the lower resistor is 4.6k with a 100nF (0.1uF) cap.

You might have a bad pot; they get "dirty" easily. Try another one.

3. Wendy

Mar 24, 2008
    Or you could stick another resistor in series with the pot to move the noisey spot on the pot. Not ideal, but functional.