555 Timer

Deadciv

Joined Jan 6, 2008
Hey,
im a grade 11 student and our teacher has asked us to make a circuit with a 555 timer, a speaker, and resisters so the sound is different. What my problem is that i have no idea what to make... what i wanted to do was to make a marry go round.. but im not sure how to incorporate my motor in the circuit, if anyone could help me with the assignment it would be greatly appreciated :)

Deadciv

Joined Jan 6, 2008
The motor is actually really fast it says its 25k RPM soo i would need some resister to slow it down. We are supposed to use a 9v battery, and i believe the motor can use around 5v - 9v. it is supposed to be made on a breadboard. and a simple outline of a piano circuit has been given to us as an outline. File is attached.

The marry go round would have only the power spinning and while the wire is spinning ti would touch each of the resistors and make a sound. All i want to know is how im going to put the motor in my circuit diagram

Attachments

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Interesting twist!

With a motor designed to run at that high of an RPM, you're really going to need to use a ratio reduction (aka: gearbox; transmission) of some kind. Otherwise, you will have practically no torque (twisting force) and a very unpredictable speed for your merry-go-round.

A transmission could be as simple as a large rubber band stretched around the bare motor shaft to a much larger pulley on the merry-go-round. Alignment of the pulley/shaft is critical to prevent your "belt" from walking off of it.

Your motor will have nothing to do with the musical portion of the 555 circuit; it's simply there to change the resistances involved. However, you could include it parallel to the musical portion of the schematic; and have the motor connected to the "wiper arm" displayed as a dashed line (similar to a solenoid connection)