555 timer with Tip31

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by cplouffe, Jun 4, 2013.

1. cplouffe

Thread Starter New Member

Jun 4, 2013
    Hello everyone,

Just wanted to say what a great and helpful site... lots of info.
    I am new at putting circuits together and would love some help on finishing this one. I did search through the forums and couldn't find the exact answer although I did find some info.

I would like to pulse DC with a 555 timer and a TIP31 npn transistor. I chose the 555 because it seems easy and parts are available. That particular transistor fits the 1a range I would like to pulse.

I have successfully setup the 555 by itself blinking LEDs and pulsing dc to some coils I am experimenting on but the 200ma max is just not enough for what I want to test. I have changed around the capacitors and resistors to adjust the frequency as well.

So I basically took the working 555 timer and setup the transistor from what I found online.
    Base to pin3 on 555 with 220ohm resistor
    Emitter to ground
    Collector to coil

But when I turn my power supply on I get almost no current.
    So I tried changing out resistor between 555 and TIP and it just got REAL hot.

So I am wondering what I am doing wrong. I just want to be able to set this circuit up to pulse dc at different frequencies up to 1amp. Adjusting like I normally would with the C,R1,and R2.

Thanks for all of your help!!!

2. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    The base resistor needs to be sized to allow about 100mA of current to be sure your transistor is fully turned on. Pin 3 max voltage minus 0.7 ( the base-emitter ∆V) will be dropped at 100mA. Use Ohm's law to calculate the right resistor. It'll need to be rated to ~2X the expected power dissipation to avoid burning up.

3. LDC3

Apr 27, 2013