555 Timer ... Retrigger with brief reset

lath

Joined Mar 16, 2013
I'm an amateur having fun with electronics but this has me a little flustered. I'm looking for a pointer...

I'm been experimenting with 555 in monostable mode. It works...when triggered the output at Pin 3 goes high.

I'm trying to search for a way to cause this to happen:
1) Trigger it and pin 3 goes high
2) Retrigger and a new cycle begins. But pin 3 goes low briefly (like 0.5 seconds or so) and then pin 3 goes high for the duration of the configured cycle.

How would I cause #2?

tracecom

Joined Apr 16, 2010
I'm an amateur having fun with electronics but this has me a little flustered. I'm looking for a pointer...

I'm been experimenting with 555 in monostable mode. It works...when triggered the output at Pin 3 goes high.

I'm trying to search for a way to cause this to happen:
1) Trigger it and pin 3 goes high
2) Retrigger and a new cycle begins. But pin 3 goes low briefly (like 0.5 seconds or so) and then pin 3 goes high for the duration of the configured cycle.

How would I cause #2?
Use the reset pin (4). As long as pin 4 is held low, pin 3 will be low.

elec_mech

Joined Nov 12, 2008
Could you post a schematic of your setup? How are you triggering the 555?

I'm just a bit confused on what is happening. You trigger the 555, pin 3 goes high for x time then goes low, correct?

After pin 3 goes low, you should be able to trigger the 555 again with no problems.

Now, if you're attempting to trigger the 555 while pin 3 is still high, you will run into problems, but we can help overcome them. Is this what you are trying to do?

If so, the simplest way I can think of at the moment is following Tracecom's advice - add a button to the reset pin (be sure to use a pull-up resistor) and press the button first to reset the 555. This will force the pin 3 to go low and you can trigger the 555 again.

I've found this site to have a wealth of knowledge on the 555.

lath

Joined Mar 16, 2013