555 PNP Driver Problem

dude_500

Joined Oct 22, 2009
I'm working on building a square wave generator from a 555 and since I need higher voltage and current (negative polarity) to drive some power triodes, I have a PNP transistor between the 555 and the triode grid.

I think I hooked it up right, however I'm fairly new to transistor design so I may have done something obviously wrong. I'm wondering if the atypical polarity that I'm running the 555 at is an issue and how to get around this since a PNP needs a negative drive signal.

When I put a scope at test point B with ground reference, I get no signal, however if I cut the circuit at either cut A, C, or both, then I get a clean -12V square wave.

I imagine there is a better way to drive this transistor, any ideas to improve the circuit so it works?

Attachments

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
The problem is that a bjt 555 can't get closer than about 1.3v less than it's Vcc, which you've placed at ground potential. So, when the output of the 555 timer is high, it's actually at about -1.3v.

The cutoff voltage of your PNP transistor will be around -0.5v; it will be well into it's linear conduction at around -0.65v.

You may have to resort to a 390 Ohm pull-up resistor from the base of the transistor to ground, to get it into cutoff.

dude_500

Joined Oct 22, 2009
Ok, that makes sense. Why is it that there is no signal at the test point though when the transistor is connected? Shouldn't the signal still be there without making either of the disconnects at A or C?

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
OK, what do you mean by "no signal"? Is it flat-lined at something less than -12v?

When A and C are connected, what voltage do you measure at point B?

What transistor are you using?

If you're measuring close to 0v when the emitter and base are connected, the transistor may be shorted due to overvoltage.

You will need to use a high-voltage transistor in your application.

dude_500

Joined Oct 22, 2009