555 on solenoids for pulsing

Swaswa

Joined Dec 20, 2016
Hi everyone,
This is my first ever post. I'm a novice really when it comes to electronics.

I'm wanting to use a 555 timer circuit to pulse 6, 12v, 125ma solenoids. All at the same time. The solenoids I've ordered are from eBay and are supposed to react within under 50ms. I assume that means around 20hz. I understand that does not mean they are designed for continuous pulsing at any frequency however, like 10hz.
These will function on my car to flow water injection. The idea is to use an astable 555 to pulse the solenoids before the nozzles so that I can use duty cycle % to control how much fluid flows per minute for a fixed size nozzle. 100% duty cycle would be 180ml a min.

My question is. If my 555 pcb can flow 500mA max but I have 6x125=750mA then I would need to wire my solenoids in series. This would be useful as if one fails I'd like to know rather than the rest just keeping on working.
My supply voltage is 12v. I wondered how I would know if I can power the 6 solenoids in series?
I also purchased a small 555 driven relay with a 0 to 15 sec delay. It is capable of 10A and says it handles any voltage. I assume up to 220V but i'd be using 12v DC. I could use that driven by the 555 duty cycle generator.

Any thoughts?

Apart from controlling the 6 solenoids. An alternative could be to pulse the DDP 5800 pump. However this flows 12 amps and 14.5 volts. Sounds more difficult but I'm a novice so I don't really know if that's the case?

Thanks

-Jack

Swaswa

Joined Dec 20, 2016
Picture of the pump:

Picture of the solenoids:

I think I've answered my question. This solenoid needs at least 9.6v to function. Is that correct?
Thanks again.

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
The solenoids I've ordered are from eBay and are supposed to react within under 50ms.