555, dpdt question

Tcg178

Joined Aug 15, 2009
I posted once before and got great help, you guys rock. I'm still playing with the same project. I'm using a 555 wired according to the diagram A (Below) and using it with a Dpdt relay to try to control an actuator to go back and forth, up and down. So far, no luck. I think i am making a mistake in the relay wiring...if anyone can give me some more pointers i'd greatly appreciate it! Please excuse my bad diagram also, im not very good at putting them together.

Attachments

pilko

Joined Dec 8, 2008
The output and ground should be connected to the relay coil. Looks like the top two terminals are the coil . Verify by checking the ohms.

jj_alukkas

Joined Jan 8, 2009
Disconnect the output pin 3 from the relay terminals and connect it to one end of the relay coil on the top. Then connect a wire from Vcc (+) to where you just disconnected the output pin 3 and give it to that position.
Now take a connection from ground and give it to the other relay terminal. It will then work. To make your 555 safe, add a back EMF protection diode across the relay coils such that you wont short them.

If it still doesnt work, you will need a driver transistor to drive the relay as it will be drawing larger currents than what 555 can handle.

This ckt is similar, change the resistance values for what you need.

Attachments

Tcg178

Joined Aug 15, 2009
I now am having problems with the relay. The 555 circuit works well and i can even hear the relay clicking back and forth. I have tried as many combinations with the relay i can think of and i am still not getting any results. Once the power is applied the relay simply just clicks open and does not toggle. Any ideas?

jj_alukkas

Joined Jan 8, 2009
If the relay is clicking back and forth exactly according to your timing, the the connection mistake is on the other part of the relay where you connected your motor.