555 Astable timer integration to MCU pic18f4550 need help..

daiza

Joined Dec 18, 2012
Hi..im currently doing my thesis and ill be using a 555 timer to be integrated in my pic18f4550..i'm not so familiar with the integration, specifically with the analog to digital conversion (if im not mistaken)..plss help me,.thanks in advance! im using MPLAB in for the programming.

tshuck

Joined Oct 18, 2012
We are going to need some more information from you:

What is the point in integrating a 555 with a uC?

Are you trying to use it as a clock source?

Are you trying to measure the rise/fall times of the signal?

Finally, what are you trying to do? I know, I know, you are trying to integrate a 555 with a PIC, but to what end?

daiza

Joined Dec 18, 2012
yes, im using it as a clock source,.i just need the mcu to count each signal that the 555 timer produces,.will it be possible if i use the 555 timer to count up to 24hrs?..my thesis is an overload detection for medium sized boats and i need to detect an specific time in order for my device to start its detection..thanks

tshuck

Joined Oct 18, 2012
Use a proper crystal oscillator, you'll get no such accuracy from an astable 555; the frequency will vary widely with temperature.

BillO

Joined Nov 24, 2008
Why not use a proper real-time clock? The DS1307 costs less than $3 for it and all the support parts and is designed to interface easily with a MCU and provide a very accurate time source.

tshuck

Joined Oct 18, 2012
Yes, Bill is absolutely correct...I thought the OP needed a clock source and didn't realize that he needed specific time information, I needed to read the whole paragraph. Since this is the case, use an internal oscillator and run a real-time clock to do time checking...Most RTCs have a an alarm function allowing precisely timed measurements...

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011