555 astable circuit for a solenoid

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Samuel_w, May 17, 2010.

1. Samuel_w

Thread Starter New Member

May 17, 2010
    Hi guys what i am trying to do is create for a drum kick pedal an attachment that would automatically power the kick pedal so you could train your feet to go in time with it. very useful for training purposes. The way i was thinking of doing this is using a solenoid connected to basically an arm that could clamp on the pedal and then power the solenoid to work the pedal. I am have alot of trouble designing a circuit for this though. I am an absolute beginner when it comes to this stuff i have literally no idea what to do however i have been told the 555 astable circuit is very similar and looking at them they almost do what i want to but i have no idea how to finish it off and whether i would need more powerful components than the one in the circuit on here. http://www.eleinmec.com/article.asp?3 any help please guys? thanks

2. Bychon

Mar 12, 2010
    The 555 is the right brain chip, but it can't operate a solenoid. You must attach some kind of power transistor(s) to get it to fire a solenoid. The next step is to define the solenoid in terms of voltage and current so you can figure out what goes in between the brain and the muscle.

3. Samuel_w

May 17, 2010
    010 Actuator
    The 010 electric actuator is a compact design for industrial applications with high demands.
    The units are fitted with high quality 12v or 24v DC motors for long term reliability.

Load Capacity from
    500N (50kg) at 4mm/second to
    300N (30kg) at 7mm/second

Stroke up to 100mm
    Supply 24v DC (standard)
    Rating 40% at full load
    Protection IP54

Ok well i think this is the solenoid actuator i want to use but i have no idea how to convert it into voltage and current as you said

4. Samuel_w

May 17, 2010
    Technical Data​
    M10 LH10 LH11 LH950​
    Limit Switch ​
    Preset Adjustable between 30 100mm