555 adjustable blinking LED, dont work?

Rendar1970

Joined Jul 1, 2010
Im pretty new to electronics, but I tried building this circuit below.

When I power it up the LED turns on, but is solid, no blinking.

When I turn VR2 the LED dims to off, and back up to full brightness like its suppossed to.

However this is suppossed to be a variable blinking LED, adjusted by VR1, however VR1 seems to have no effect. No matter how its turned or adjusted the led just stays on. No blinking.

Is there something wrong with the schematic? Ive tried 2 different pots on VR1, and nothing.

Really at my wits end.

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

There are a couple of mistakes in the schematic.
1) leds may not be put parallel directly.
2) there are no current limiting resistors.
3) the powersupply-voltage is probably to low for white leds.
(what are the specifications of the leds you use?)
4) the leds are mounted up-side-down.

Here I made some adjustments in the schematic.

Bertus

Attachments

Dx3

Joined Jun 19, 2010
The LM555 wants 4.5 volts minimum. (Same as an NE555)
Pin 5 needs a capacitor to ground...about .1uf or .01uf Somewhere in there.

Rendar1970

Joined Jul 1, 2010
Thanks Bertus,

I already realized the problems with the LEDS, and have made the changes already. Im using RED LED's btw.

Do you have any clue as to why the LED's are not blinking at all, and why VR1 seems to have no effect?

BTW: This is a schematic taken from one of those "Evil Genius" books. Apparently the author is way off on most everything.

its supposed to be a simple circuit where you have 2 clusers of 3 red leds. VR1 adjust how fast the clusters blink, and VR2 adjusts the brightness of the LED. The 2 cluster of LEDS are placed on sunglasses, to make alpha meditation glasses. I have seen another project like this using a pre-made board on make.com, but I wanted to try this

Rendar1970

Joined Jul 1, 2010
giving the chip 9v now.

lucky enough to have .01uf cap from another project and made that fix.