555 3V LED Flasher circuit Help?

mrayvon

Joined Dec 24, 2010
Hey! I want to blink 6 3mm LEDs at 10 Hz using a 555 timer. I've built a circuit in a simulator that seems to be operational, but I wanted to run it by someone more experienced before I start buying components. Does anything seem off? I'm an artist primarily and a bit of an amateur when it comes to electronics.

Heres what I have so far:

Thanks for your time and thoughts!

Joined Nov 30, 2010
I don't think you can get 54 milliamps out of a 555 chip with a 3 volt supply. Exactly which 555 do you have in mind?

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Welcome to ACC!

The schematic will not work.

You can use a CMOS 555, such as a Radio ShacK TLC555 or a 7555, because they are rated for a lowest voltage spec of 2.0VDC, but that configuration will not work. A conventional 555 has a lowest power supply voltage spec of 4.5VDC.

One of the problems with a CMOS 555 is that the current drive is dramatically reduced, and the problem gets worse at low voltages. At 3VDC you are lucky to get 20 ma drive for a CMOS 555.

I have created a series of projects using a CMOS 555 at 3.0VDC, they use a much reduced pulse width. You might be able to lift the core transistor drivers if the 50% duty cycle is important, or use the design as I made them.

Other issues with your design, 10 Hz is a terrible frequency to use. In some people it can trigger and epileptic attack (no fooling). You can't see the flash rate clearly (though you can clearly see it is flashing). You probably want to slow it down 5 hertz or so.

The other issue is the LEDs themselves. What is their Vf (forward dropping voltage)? Most modern red LEDs drop 2.5VDC, much older types drop 1.5V (but they are very old, very dim, and very rare). If they drop 2.5VDC, this means your current through the LEDs is 5ma. Most LEDs are at their best brightness at 20ma.

Like I've said, I've come up with several solutions that may work for you.