4017 & 555 Police LED Lights Project (noob question)

Joined Feb 19, 2015
hello, i am assigned to create a physical project starting from the schematics on the left side. my teacher told me that the schematic is incomplete, so the first step is to corect it and then use pads and then send the gerber files to a company to create it. i started reserching it and every schematics i found on the internet about this project had a major diffrence...in my schematics the outputs of the IC 4017 is conecte to 6 resistors...on a number of other similar schematics they are connected to 6 diodes...this is my first project and it is the first time i have to use my electronics knowledge to do something from a tp z and aparently i don`t have much of it :(...can some one please talk to me about the diffrences on those schematics...can any one shed some light for me on this subject? i will be forever gratefull :) thank you in advance :) (sorry for my bad english, i hope you understand what i am talking about ^.^)

Attachments

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
What is the desired flash pattern for "police lights"?

Are the flash patterns for both circuits the same?

How do the two circuits create their respective flash pattern?

Joined Feb 19, 2015
What is the desired flash pattern for "police lights"?

Are the flash patterns for both circuits the same?

How do the two circuits create their respective flash pattern?
he didn`t specify any particular flash pattern...i guess that is for me to decide
i have no ideea if they are same...
i don`t even know how to answer the last question...:(

can you maby please explain how those questions are relevant and how dose the circuit differ when the pattern differs? it would help me alot

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

You likely got the schematics from the following sites:
http://www.electro-tech-online.com/threads/police-flash-lights.103089/
http://www.555-timer-circuits.com/police-lights.html