4 bit adder project need help

automagp68

Joined Nov 13, 2011
Hi

Im a first year EE student just fooling around with some TTL logic and i cant get my little design to work.

I have a TI SN74LS83AN logic chip "assumed ot be a 4 bit fast adder"

I have a have a data sheet for a Motorolla version and assumed it was the same as i cant find the TI one ANYWHERE

Needless to say the thing doesnt work.

I have built it twice, and tested each part individually as i went, switches, leds powers grounds etc to illiminate any issues later but the thing is still not working and just acts random

Im wondering if the pin out is different
Im new to this so not sure if the pinout would be different or conventionally its the same from manf to manf

Any ideas?

I have a diagram i made in EAGLE if that would be helpful.

Ill post it in a second but for now my question is more about the difference in the datasheet

Thanks

automagp68

Joined Nov 13, 2011
I finally found the schematic

It appears the pins are the same

But it still doesnt work

Im thinking at moment it needs a pull down resistor in between all the switches so the chip sees a true 0

Any ideas?

automagp68

Joined Nov 13, 2011
Ok the pull down resistors did not work.

Will someone please help me?
This is fairly simple, so i find it hard to believe that no one on this board can help

elec_mech

Joined Nov 12, 2008
automagp68,

Please note this is an international forum, meaning it could take up to 24 hours before someone sees your post who can help.

What exactly is not working?

The output LEDs don't light, the input LEDs don't light, the value displayed on the output LEDs doesn't match the value you expect, etc.?

What is your supply voltage (Vcc)?

First, you are right, you need pull-down resistors on all the inputs. You should also add current-limiting resistors to the output LEDs and a 0.1uF capacitor between Vcc and GND as close to you IC as possible.