3528 LED strip, its controller, and the PC i want to plug it all into. Please help with advice!

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by rambosbigbro, Oct 2, 2014.

1. rambosbigbro

Thread Starter New Member

Oct 2, 2014
    All the components below i have at my disposal. I am a beginner soldererer and I am working on a custom pc case. All of it is assembled except for the lights for the inside of the pc case. I have the light strip

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00HSF67H0/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

and a controller

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00AF5YOK2/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

and a beginner solder kit

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0002LLWZY/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Now, i bought all of this for super super cheap on ebay in the hopes of making it work inside my pc, hooked up to my pc power supply by connecting it to the two wires (yellow and black) on a four pin molex. However, as you can see in the items, the led light strip doesn't match up with the LED controller input. And the output on the controller is made into a AC outlet.

Pictures of the inside of the controller are below. What i'm THINKING about doing:
    the LED strip has a white wire (live) and black wire (ground) on one end. I would de-solder the rgbground from the controller and just attach the white wire to green spot (its a green LED strip) and the black to the ground spot. Then somehow take the 12v wire and ground wire off my 4 pink molex adapter to my PC power supply and soldering it onto the bottom of the controller

My questions (sorry it took so long to get here) are:
    1. Can i solder the two wires onto the rbgground spots on the controller and it actually work? or do i just need to get another controller entirely that works with one light
    2. Where do i solder the live/ground to underneath the controller to allow it to power it, or can i do that at all