30w,4 ohm speaker driving IC

wenn32

Joined Nov 9, 2010
Hello, i want to drive my car speaker which is sony's 30w,4ohm speaker.so i have left & right channels.here i am going to concentrate on one channel (cause as you know i can duplicate the circuit if i know one of the channel).i need an ic that can drive this 30w,4w speaker.can you please tell me an ic that can do this job for me.

Audioguru

Joined Dec 20, 2007
There are about 120 car radio amplifier ICs available. Most advertise an output with severe clipping distortion with a 14.4V supply of 20W per channel or 30W peak per channel.

When the car battery is 13.2V and the amplifier is barely clipping then the power into 4 ohms is 14W.

These amplifiers are actually two amplifiers in a bridge. They drive each end of a 4 ohm speaker. One example is a TDA7240A. A pcb design is in its datasheet.

Attachments

wenn32

Joined Nov 9, 2010
Thanks for the reply i am really new with audio circuits and i wanted to know if i have a 30w speaker & if i supply 14w will that reduce volume(ie music) or will it increase noise?? & should i connect a voltage amplifer before the power amp since i have a very few volts coming from my input device (which is my mobile(nokia) itself i am going to use audio out).i also found this ic KIA6221AH which is a 30w x 2 amp which i think is cool for my purpose do you recommended me using this ic.Thanks!

Audioguru

Joined Dec 20, 2007
Thanks for the reply i am really new with audio circuits and i wanted to know if i have a 30w speaker & if i supply 14w will that reduce volume(ie music) or will it increase noise??
Your speaker is designed to be driven from a car radio that has a phoney "peak" power rating of 30W or a real power of 14W.
The difference in volume between 30W and 15W is just a little. 10 times the power sounds twice as loud.