30 us LED pulse

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Sedeca, Jul 2, 2014.

1. Sedeca

Thread Starter New Member

Sep 26, 2013
    Hello everybody,

I would like to ask you for some help on designing a circuit to create
    short LED pulses. I have already spent quite some time reading up on
    similar threads in the forum but as I am a chemist and not an electrical
    engineer I am not quite there yet. So here is what I want to do and what
    I have thought of so far:

I thought of doing this in two stages, first a simpler device and once
    that works maybe a more complicated one.
    So at first I would want to generate one puls somewhere in the tens of
    miroseconds when I physically pres a button that drives 4- 6 of these
    LED's
    ( if anybody knows brighter red LEDs that work without cooling at about
    the same size I would love to see them :))
    (how many exactly will depend on the light intensity I get and how many
    of them i can fit in the device I am building. as making them less
    bright is always easy lets say 6)

peak current for those LEDs is 2.6 V and as the duty cycle will be very
    low I would like to use that to get maximum brightness. so that would
    add up to 15.6 Volts.

to generate the puls I would use a 555 in monostable mode with the
    appropriate resistor and capacitor (something like 10nF and 1kOhm)
    and the output would then drive a n-mosfet that is connected between the
    LEDs and ground.

Is that going into the general right direction? Is there a simpler
    solution or will this not work?
    if it goes in the right direction here are some more questions:
    1) could somebody point me to the exact 555 needed. I have not yet
    grasped the difference between the variations.
    2)I am also very unsure what kind of mosfet I need. I think that the
    gate impedance has to be low for the mosfet to change quickly enough?
    might I need a mosfet driver (isn't that just another mosfet?)? also I