3 x LM3914 with 3 x LED Bar, strange behavior. Correctly wired?

Discussion in 'Homework Help' started by ssommer, Jun 2, 2016.

1. ssommer

Thread Starter New Member

Jun 2, 2016
    Hello Pros

Honestly, i am a newbie. For a project i am trying to combine 3 x LM3914 Chips with 3 x LED Bars.

I already tinkered a version with 1 x 3914 and 1 x LED Bar - it works quite good. I use some push buttons to bring the LEDs up and down (in the video you hear the push sound combined with the soundbard)

In the last days i googled a lot about multiple LM3914 and also read some threads in this forums. For some reason the LED Bar have a strange behavior by trying to bring the LEDs up and down. Instead of counting up one-by-one the first click brings the whole bar up. Please take also a look on the video. I assume that i made mistakes with capacitor or resistors. I tried to adapt some knowledge which i became through my "1 x 3914" experiment.

Currently i programmed it with my Arduino UNO, that every push-buttom will count up the voltage +0.40. I use the 5 Volt Output of my Arduino UNO.

Could you have a look on my Fritzing Design? I hope you have some inputs where i have to look.
    There's a picture from my "1x3914" Project which works good. And the "3x3914" which does not want to work.

Thank you guys!
    Sascha

The Behavior of my 3 x 3914 Project

The 3 x 3914 Project

[​IMG]

The 1 x 3914 Project
    [​IMG]

2. bertus

Administrator

Apr 5, 2008
    Hello,

Can you post a schematic in stead of the connection diagram?
    Schematics are the real language for electronics.

Bertus

3. WBahn

Mar 31, 2012
    Are you debouncing your switches?

If you are just trying to make the three displays identical to each other and to the original single-display circuit, why are you running them in different modes (i.e., why is Pin 9 connected differently)?

Do you have bypass capacitors on each IC?

4. WBahn

Mar 31, 2012