3 phase varriable or set frequency drive for an induction motor

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by alobko, Aug 28, 2012.

1. alobko

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 27, 2012
    First off let me say I'm new to working with 3 phase motors and current so don't be too angry with my not understanding. I need someones help to design a variable or set frequency drive to power a 3 phase induction motor, and from what i understand there are a few logical ways to do so. The method I see as most worth pursuing is this: [​IMG] type of circuit, obviously where the transistors are controlled by a variable or set frequency drive. What I am having trouble understanding is how to go about the later part, how to go about creating a variable frequency drive that does the 3 sets of 2 oscillations which cause the 3 phase current. Most people say that you need to use a PIC micro controller for that, but I have found it hard to understand the bits and pieces about a) which PIC's should be used b) how to use them (as in program and connect them) c)if there is any alternative to this (some sort of oscillator with a delay circuit????). I have experience programming and some other types of circuit design but that helps me little with micro controllers for which this would be the first project I ever used this type and for this type of task, so a) please don't be harsh b) help me out if you can, I can give you alot of specifics about the actual project if need be, its also not especially high current or voltage, and I don't want or need any sort of feedback or breakdown control from the motor. I literally would benefit from as close to a full set of instructions as possible, from source code to program the micro controller to how to actually program and connect it, I've never used a PIC before...

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer!

2. shortbus

AAC Fanatic!

Sep 30, 2009