3-phase questions...need some help

lespaul

Joined Jan 30, 2008
Hello and glad to be a new member. I work in the live entertainment industry and we commonly use 3-phase power distros/sources to distribute power to our equipment. This equipment is usually 110VAC powered gear such as audio amplifiers, video switchers, cameras, etc. However, we do also use large scale projection systems that require 208VAC to power them. The case I need help on is that I have 4 projectors at 208VAC that draw 17.3amps at that voltage. The 3-phase power system ordered is 120VAC @ 60amps per phase. Does this mean that I have 120amps available if I connect the projectors across two phases (208VAC)?? The total current of the 4 projectors is 69amps and would be bad news if i only had 60amps of available current. Thanks for your help...Les

rwmoekoe

Joined Mar 1, 2007
do you agree if the projectors aren't sourced from one single phase?
if so, my suggestion is that you should step up the 3 phase power source to 208 vac each. subtech has provided us with the technical info on that subject.
then put 2 of your projectors on one phase, and the other 2 to the rest of the phases. the idea is to spread the loads as evenly as possible across the 3 phases.
we have to put precaution on the phase that handles the 2 projectors though, as it would have been occupied at its full capacity (1 projector requires 30amps at 120vac, times 2)

lespaul

Joined Jan 30, 2008