3 phase power factor calculations, capacitors

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by DanD, May 29, 2008.

1. DanD

DanD Thread Starter New Member

I used the power factor information here to calculate the power factor and calculate the capacitor size required to correct the power factor. It cut my electric bill by 20%!

So, now I want to help a friend who has 3 phase on his shop. Can anyone tell me how to practically calculate the capacitor size needed when using 3 phase?

I assume it only requires 2 caps, one between each of the three line wires. Is that correct?
  2. mik3

mik3 Senior Member

Well,i am not an expert on three phase circuits but i think you have to use 3 capacitors. Take each pair of phases as a single phase system and calculate the capacitor needed but be aware that the voltage is higher so you have to use capacitors with higher voltage rating.
  3. gerty

gerty Well-Known Member

mik3 is correct 3 capacitors. phase A-B, phase B-C, and phase A-C.
  4. DanD

DanD Thread Starter New Member

Ok, but how do I calculate the capacitor size for 3 phase using a clamp meter and the power meter?
  5. dhanrajbiradar

dhanrajbiradar New Member

but why in Delta why not star connection of Capacitors?
  6. GetDeviceInfo

GetDeviceInfo Senior Member

Just out of curiosity, what value of capacitors did you install to save you 20% of your electrical bill, and what loads are you running to get such a poor power factor?
  7. t_n_k

t_n_k AAC Fanatic!

Firstly, GetDeviceInfo asks a very good question - this is worth knowing.

The three phase system loading may not be balanced across all phases and the individual phase power factors may be quite different. You might have to individually compensate each phase. If the loads vary appreciably then the power factor compensation may have a detrimental effect by actually overcompensating the load.