3 phase power factor calculations, capacitors

DanD

Joined May 29, 2008
I used the power factor information here to calculate the power factor and calculate the capacitor size required to correct the power factor. It cut my electric bill by 20%!

So, now I want to help a friend who has 3 phase on his shop. Can anyone tell me how to practically calculate the capacitor size needed when using 3 phase?

I assume it only requires 2 caps, one between each of the three line wires. Is that correct?

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008
I used the power factor information here to calculate the power factor and calculate the capacitor size required to correct the power factor. It cut my electric bill by 20%!

So, now I want to help a friend who has 3 phase on his shop. Can anyone tell me how to practically calculate the capacitor size needed when using 3 phase?

I assume it only requires 2 caps, one between each of the three line wires. Is that correct?
Well,i am not an expert on three phase circuits but i think you have to use 3 capacitors. Take each pair of phases as a single phase system and calculate the capacitor needed but be aware that the voltage is higher so you have to use capacitors with higher voltage rating.

GetDeviceInfo

Joined Jun 7, 2009
Just out of curiosity, what value of capacitors did you install to save you 20% of your electrical bill, and what loads are you running to get such a poor power factor?

t_n_k

Joined Mar 6, 2009
Ok, but how do I calculate the capacitor size for 3 phase using a clamp meter and the power meter?
Firstly, GetDeviceInfo asks a very good question - this is worth knowing.

The three phase system loading may not be balanced across all phases and the individual phase power factors may be quite different. You might have to individually compensate each phase. If the loads vary appreciably then the power factor compensation may have a detrimental effect by actually overcompensating the load.