3-phase 400 V Sauna Heater on 1-phase 240 V?

owenfw

Joined Jun 30, 2010
Ok, so I'm an electronics novice. I don't intend to do the project described myself...I'm just trying to figure out if it's possible before I find someone to do it for me. I'm also in contact with the manufacturer, but they aren't great at responding to emails.

The sauna heaters sold in the US are lame. There are tons of great models available in Finland, which I can easily import, but of course they aren't designed to run on US power.

The heater I would like to buy is a 7.5kw heater with 3 2.5kw resistive elements from ikikiuas.fi. The wiring diagram is here:

1: power
2: timer
3: thermostat/overtemp
4: elements
5: output restriction

So, simple question: this is designed to run on 400V 3-phase power, which is available in most residences in Finland. Can I do this using 240V 1-phase power and a higher amperage breaker than the unit expects (3x16A)? What would be involved?

Thanks to anyone willing to help me out. I really appreciate it.

Dx3

Joined Jun 19, 2010
The problem is that the 400 volt heaters will use a lot less current at 240 volts...not more. You will not need to put in larger breakers. You will get about 900 watts from each heater. This seems like a good reason to buy heaters designed for the right voltage.

owenfw

Joined Jun 30, 2010
Why would you want to do that when you can get one made for our line voltage? - http://www.thesaunadepot.com/sauna_heaters/harvia_topclass-kv.htm
Thanks. The problem is those heaters (most of which are coming from Finland, modified for our market) remind one of the 1980's in terms of design. They are the bottom of the line or obsolete models. Finnleo sells one more contemporary model (the Saunatonttu), but even that gets ridiculed in Finland as looking like a waste bin! The problem is that the market in the US is so small compared to Finland that it doesn't really pay for the manufacturers to update their lines here.

owenfw

Joined Jun 30, 2010