3 cell Li-ion charging

RedsDuty

Joined May 28, 2016
Hello

This is my very first post on AAC...
I am just beginning with electronics and I'm doing so in making a few projects I think are useful.
I've already learned a lot from experience.

So here's my question
I want to charge a 3 cell li-ion battery pack (4 parallel, 3 series). I would just charge them to 12.2V (using a standard 12v 1A power adapter)
And I would like to di the following things with them:
Power a 12V (15W) amplifier circuit, and a 5V bluetooth audio chip + if possible a USB port to use as a battery bank.
I'm using 2000 mAh Li-ion batteries (saved from laptop batteriess + capacity tested).
Now I've read that for charging the packs, it's better not to put 12V at both ends and hope for the best :) .

So... Is it really needed to buy a BMS for such a small system, or can I get away by just charging them?
Or is there a possibility to make a complicated voltage divider to split the 12v in 3 4v supplies?
Also, since the voltage of the batteries diminish over time, my step-down converter will not be able to give constant 5v...
(I've tested this with my power supply, there's quite a big difference between full 12v and empty (around 8v))
Should I step down untill right under 5v and use a constant boost converter (and deal with the extra inefficiency) or is there another solution.

Sorry for my many (and possibly stupid) beginner questions
but thanks for those who decide to help!

Greetings
Reds Duty

RedsDuty

Joined May 28, 2016
explosion and your house on fire
This guy seems to be doing it... He makes camera things (and made his own EV) all without a BMS...
What's so dangerous dangerous about it?
I see in the article it's better not to fully charge the batteries (because voltage stress).
And certainly not to charge it over the specified voltage (4.2v per cell * 3 cells = 12.6v --> I'm only at 12.2).