3 bit binary counter - D flip flop

grizzly_pouches

Joined Nov 11, 2013
I will start by saying that I am very new to this so.......

I will try and make this as simple as possible as I am just looking for help with something specific. I don't want to know if a shortcut exists, or if I could build it another way. I am just looking to see if what I built is possible since I can not get it to work properly. (Once everyone is done lauging at my question then you can fill me in on how I should do it.)

I am trying to build a 3 bit binary counter using D flip flops. I have simulated it using a couple of programs with no problems but when I build the actual circuit I run into problems. To start: I have a small hobby breadboard, a variable power supply which has multiple settings (3V, 4.5V, 6V, 9V, and 12V) and no current control, one 555 timer, and two 74LS74 IC's. For the 555 timer I am using the following values: R1=5.6KΩ, R2=33KΩ, and C = 10μf (freq just over 2hz and a period of .49 sec). I am using the 4.5V setting on the power supply and I do not have access to any voltage regulators. All of my Q outputs go to a 330 ohm resistor followed by a simple 5mm red led. When I build the circuit and make it a two bit counter it works perfectly counting 0-3 (00, 01, 10, 11). When I attempt to introduce the second 74LS74 IC it starts to count wrong. My counting sequence now goes (100, 001, 010, 011.... and then loops thats sequence). It never displays 000 and never goes past 100 but the led does light up so something is happening. I would like for it to just count 0-7 in binary and then start over.