18 VAC Motor Control

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by toppytop, Aug 1, 2009.

1. toppytop

toppytop Thread Starter Member

I would greatly appreciate someone to help me out with this design. What I am doing is controlling a Lionel train with a simple triac/diac (actually a Quadrac) type control for a fan motor at 120 VAC. I can wire the control on the primary side of my 120 VAC to 18 VAC transformer and it works fine to control the train. My problem is I don't want it on the primary side I want it on the secondary 18 VAC side. I can run multiple trains from this transformer and just need individual controllers. The breakover voltage of the diac is too high for this lower voltage. I must start from scratch with the control and don't know if I need zero crossing detection or not or if I will need a opto-isolator or not. In my small mind this shouldn't take much of a circuit but my background isn't electronics (have alittle knowledge), it's in control wiring. Could someone post a schematic or two on how to accomplish this control. Thank you.
  2. yourownfree

yourownfree Active Member

I have a question for you. the transformer is 18 vac? I dont know much about trains, so how do they go in reverse? does it get converted to dc somewhere? Are you trying to build a speed controller? more explanation please.
  3. rjenkins

rjenkins AAC Fanatic!

Hi,
    a very simple train speed controller:

This assumes you have a transformer with a full-wave rectifier giving somewhere around 12 - 18V.

Code:
    + -----*-------------------------
    IN     |                        |
          ---                       |
          \ / 1N4007                |
          ---                      ---                 
           |       R1              \ / TH1
           *------/\/\---          ---
           | +          |       -- /|
         ----- 4700uf   \      |    |
         ----- 25V      /      |    |
           |            \<-----|    -----> + Out