18 PWM Microcontroller

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by Pawel19, Sep 1, 2012.

1. Pawel19

Thread Starter New Member

Sep 1, 2012
    I am trying to find a microcontroller which would give me individual control over 6 RGB LED's. I'm pretty new to all of this, but I heard the simplest way to do this would be to use PWM for each diode. I believe this would necessitate 6*3 PWM slots. Are there any microcontrollers that offer this capability? Most importantly, my budget is ~$20.

Assuming there is no product which fits my needs in my price range, what are other options open to me?

BTW I have another thread open here, but I thought this question might be more appropriate in this forum. If this is considered spamming, please let me know and I will remove this thread.
  2. Pawel19

Sep 1, 2012
    The project I am trying to to can be accomplished with this sort of setup apparently, but I can't find much information on it. It consists of a on/off switch, wiring for the LED's, a microUSB slot, and a Li Ion battery. If anyone could help that would be great!

3. MMcLaren

Feb 14, 2010
    There are probably several different microcontrollers out there with eighteen hardware PWM outputs but many designers, I suspect, would use software PWM instead of hardware PWM, or they might use LED driver ICs with built-in PWM capability.

A relatively simple solution might use soft PWM and directly drive the eighteen LEDs from the microcontroller or multiplex the displays to use fewer pins (but use slightly more 'peak' current per LED for the same 'average' current and brightness level).

Software PWM methods vary. What I would aim for is, (1) the smallest possible PWM "step" size (anything under 1-usec is great), and, (2) the fastest possible refresh rate. I often use a custom (proprietary) high performance BAM (bit angle modulation) driver with gamma corrected linear brightness/color level capability.