16F819 PIC driving LCD

ham_man

Joined Jan 9, 2014
Hi I am relatively new to PIC programming and am just using it as a hobby.
At present I am familliar with assembly language but only in the very early stages of using C language.
I have had great fun with programming PIC for using LCD display, using 4 bit transfer and two analogue inputs, but I would now like to use Busy check on the LCD so that I don't have to worry about delays and altering osc frequency(within reasonable limits. etc.
To concentrate on getting the B/Flag going properly I have used another program and cut it down to a very simple LCD output (It just writes a name on the bottom line).
If i just use a delay in place of the B/Flag check routine--it works fine, but replacing the delay with the B/Flag routine gives 2 lines and nothing else.
I have checked everywhere I can think of on the net---unfortunately most information is in C language!
If anyone would be kind enough to help (In ASSEMBLY language if possible) I would be most grateful.
I list my B/flag routine ---called Busywait below:-

Rich (BB code):
BUSYWAIT        BSF    STATUS,5    ;GOTO BANK 1
            MOVLW    0FFH        ;PORTB ALL INPUTS
            MOVWF    TRISB
            BSF    OPTION_R,7    ;DISABLE PULLUPS
            BCF    STATUS,5    ;RETURN TO BANK 0
    STILLBUSY    BSF    PORTA,3        ;E LINE ENABLE DISPLAY--CLOCK HIGH
            BSF    PORTA,2        ;R/W LINE SET HIGH TO READ LCD DATA
            BCF    PORTA,1        ;R/D CLEAR---SET TO COMMAND
            NOP            ;SMALL DELAY TO ENSURE LCD DATA STABLE
            BCF    PORTA,3        ;CLOCK LOW TO SET LCD DATA INTO PORTB 1ST NIBBLE
            MOVF    PORTB,W        ;MOVE PORTB DATA INTO W REG
            MOVWF    TEMP1        ;MOVE LCD DATA 1ST NIBBLE INTO TEMP1 FILE
            BSF    PORTA,3        ;CLOCK HIGH ENABLE 2ND NIBBLE FROM LCD
            BCF    PORTA,3        ;CLOCK LOW TO READ 2ND NIBBLE (NOT NEEDED FOR B/F CHECK??)