16f628a question

bluebrakes

Joined Oct 17, 2009
i'm using a pic16f628a and i'm wondering if i can have inputs and outputs both on portAs?

so for example have an output on RA1 and an input on RA2.

Would someone be able to show a snippet of code to how it's done?

i'm still learning. :)

thanks.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
I don't have any code to show you because I don't know what language you're programming in.

However, PORTA pin directions are controlled by the TRISA register.
If you want RA1 to be an output, you set bit 1 of TRISA to 0.
If you want RA2 to be an input, you set bit 2 of TRISA to 1.

There is sample Assembler code on page 29 of the PIC16F62x Data Sheet for initializing TRISA for output pins.

AlexR

Joined Jan 16, 2008
One point to watch is that port A can be configured either as digital port (normal I/O) or as a analogue port. It defaults to analogue. To turn it into a digital port you have to disable the analogue comparators which you do by writing hex 07 to the CMCON register.

bluebrakes

Joined Oct 17, 2009
thanks guys. Sorry, i didn't mention i was programming in assembly code.

alex, does that mean i have to configure each port independently as regards to digital/analog or can i turn them all to digital but each selected as an input/output?

BMorse

Joined Sep 26, 2009
writing hex 07 to the CMCON register sets all IO's as digital, use the TRISA register to set the direction, sgtwookie suggested.

Rich (BB code):
CLRF PORTA ;Initialize PORTA by setting output data latches
MOVLW 0x07 ;Turn comparators off and
MOVWF CMCON ;enable pins for I/O functions
BCF STATUS, RP1
BSF STATUS, RP0 ;Select Bank1
MOVLW 0x0C ;Value used to initialize data direction
MOVWF TRISA ;Set RA<1:0> as outputs, RA<2:3> as Inputs TRISA<5> always read as‘1’. TRISA<7:6> depend on oscillator mode

bluebrakes

Joined Oct 17, 2009
maybe this a bit of a challenging project, but the attached schematic is essentially what i would like to create.